Tuesday, January 29, 2008

Street Renaissance and City Council addresses

I'd like to congratulate all the people from Street Renaissance for their successful and informative reception, held last night at the New York Historical Society. I'll post on this later today.

Here are important email addresses and committee members for the New York City Council. These three committees, and their members, have the greatest influence within the council on matters of traffic and transit. Please write to all of these committees to give them your opinions regarding congestion pricing. The conclusions of the Traffic Congestion Mitigation Commission are not necessarily the final arbiters of legislative action; but the time is now to make your voices heard. I'll also be posting State Assembly member addresses in the next few days—a final vote is due by March 31, 2008. For individual council member email addresses, visit:


Transportation committee

Email: liu@council.nyc.ny.us

Committee Members
Chairperson: John C. Liu
Joseph P. Addabbo, Jr.
Daniel R. Garodnick
Vincent Ignizio
G. Oliver Koppell
Jessica S. Lappin
Miguel Martinez
Michael E. McMahon
Darlene Mealy
Diana Reyna
Larry B. Seabrook

Environmental Protection Committee

Email: gennaro@council.nyc.ny.us

Committee Members
Chairperson: James F. Gennaro
Bill de Blasio
Mathieu Eugene
Vincent Ignizio
G. Oliver Koppell
Melissa Mark Viverito
Domenic M. Recchia, Jr.
Peter F. Vallone, Jr.
Thomas White, Jr.

Public Safety Committee

Email: vallonejr@council.nyc.ny.us

Oversight: Police Department, Courts, District Attorneys, Special Narcotics Prosecutor, Civilian Complaint Review Board, Department of Juvenile Justice, Criminal Justice Coordinator, Office of Emergency Management, and Organized Crime Control Commission.

Committee Chairperson Peter F. Vallone, Jr.

District Office Address
22-45 31st Street., Astoria, Astoria, New York, 11105
Phone: (718) 274-4500
Fax Phone No.: (718) 726-0357

Legislative Office Address
250 Broadway, 17th Floor, 10007
Phone: (212) 788-6963
Fax Phone No.: (212) 788-8957

Committee Members
Chairperson: Peter F. Vallone, Jr.
Joseph P. Addabbo, Jr.
Erik Martin Dilan
Helen D. Foster
Daniel R. Garodnick
James F. Gennaro
Vincent J. Gentile
Melinda R. Katz
Hiram Monserrate
James S. Oddo
David Yassky